You are currently viewing Tour de France – Stage 10

Tour de France – Stage 10

Tour De France 2017
Stage 10: Perigueux to Bergerac 178 km

Today was a day for the sprinters after yesterday’s first rest day of the 2017 Tour De France. This is exactly how things played out in the end, with Wanty Groupe Goubes’ Yoanne Offredo attacking at km 0. Initially it looked as though it would be a long solo effort with no one else following his move but after a few km’s a small group broke clear of the peleton but due to no one really committing from the group, it wouldn’t stick. Just before the escaped group was brought back, Fortuneo Oscaro’s, Elie Gersbert attacked from the group to bridged across to Yoanne.

This would be the break of the day with the two of them building a maximum lead of 3m35 over the main peleton, who were quite happy to take things a bit easier today with major climbs in the pyrenees & alps to come.

The two shared the spoils of the king of the mountain & sprint point primes along the route with each taking a victory.

With the finish line drawing closer, the sprinters teams brought the two back steadily & with 6 km’s to go were reeled in & brought back to the main peleton.

With two sharp bends within the final km the teams positioned their sprinters out of troubles way to contest the final sprint for the line but no one could match the speed of Marcel Kittel (Quickstep). This is his forth victory on this years your & it further extends his lead in the green points leaders jersey.


Stage results

  1. Marcel Kittel (Germany / Quick-Step Floors) 4:01:00”
  2. John Degenkolb (Germany / Trek-Segafredo) ST
  3. Dylan Groenewegen (Netherlands / LottoNL-Jumbo)
  4. Ruediger Selig (Germany / BORA-hansgrohe)
  5. Alexander Kristoff (Norway / Katusha-Alpecin)


General classification

  1. Chris Froome (Britain / Team Sky) 42:27:29”
  2. Fabio Aru (Italy / Astana Pro Team) +18”
  3. Romain Bardet (France / AG2R La Mondiale) +51”
  4. Rigoberto Uran (Colombia / Cannondale-Drapac) +55”
  5. Jakob Fuglsang (Denmark / Astana Pro Team) +1:37”